According to the Social Adjustment Scale by Holmes, job loss is the one of the top three stressors in a persons life. People often have feelings similar to those of grieving or mourning and listed below are the stages of grief:

1) Shock
2) Denial
3) Anger
4) Bargaining – Asking the company to take you back
5) Isolation
6) Depression
7) Finally – Acceptance, Reintegration, and Renewal

Every person has his or her own time table as to when they reach the stage of acceptance. People go through a roller coaster ride of emotions in no particular order, and at different times of the job search process.

The important thing to remember is that all of these feelings are normal and part of the grieving process associated with any type of loss. If you are wondering what is “normal” in terms of your emotions, or you are having  emotions that are taking a toll on you or your family, you may want to discuss your feelings with a professional counselor.

by Beverly Baskin, Ed.S, MA, NCCC

Baskin Career Counseling offers Career Counseling Services for individual and Corporate Clients/Outplacement/and Career Coaching – Serving New Jersey (NJ) and Nationwide. Please visit our main site at